Hartmut Haenchen Concert 2020

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on skype
Share on email
Hartmut Haenchen conducts Mahler
at La Fenice theater in Venice
Hartmut Haenchen

Hartmut Haenchen conducts the seventh symphony of Gustav Mahler. Symphony No. 7 in E minor was composed between 1904 and 1906 and is in five movements. Although the symphony is often described as E minor, its tonal scheme is more complicated. The first movement of the symphony moves from B minor (introduction) to E minor, and the work ends with a final rondo in C major. As Dika Newlin pointed out, “in this symphony Mahler returns to the ideal of ‘progressive tonality‘ that he had abandoned in the Sixth”. The complexity of the tonal scheme of the work has been analyzed in terms of “interlocking structures” by Graham George.

Even for the organic of this symphony Mahler’s composition includes unusual instruments, such as the guitar, mandolin, baritone flugelhorn and cowbell. Mahler finished the composition on August 15, 1905, while the orchestration was completed the following year; later he set aside the work to complete the orchestration of the Sixth Symphony whose first performance was scheduled for May 1906. The first performance of the Seventh Symphony took place on September 19, 1908 at the National Theatre in Prague, on the occasion of the jubilee celebrations of Emperor Franz Joseph (in the presence of Austrian composer Alban Berg and German conductor Otto Klemperer).

Hartmut Haenchen occupies a very first place in international musical life and is particularly known and appreciated for his interpretations of Richard Strauss, Wagner and Mahler. Born in Dresden, Germany, Hartmut Haenchen was principal conductor of the Nederlands Philharmonisch Orkest and musical director of the Dutch National Opera. During his 13-year term, he conducted an extensive operatic repertoire, including works by Alban Berg, Georg Friedrich Händel, Modest Mussorgsky, Aribert Reimann and Giuseppe Verdi and Richard Wagner. He directed the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, the Orchester Symphonique de la Monnaie, the New Japan Philharmonic, the Orchestra of the National Academy of Santa Cecilia, the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden and the Berlin Philharmonic. He also conducted “Parsifal” at the Bayreuth Festival, “Tristan and Isolde” at the Opéra de Lyon and “Cosi fan tutte” at the Grand Théâtre de Genève. In 2008 he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit of the Republic of Germany. “Opernwelt” magazine named him Director of the Year in 2017.


Location: La Fenice Opera House, Venice

Schedule: December 12 – 13, 2020 – CONCERTS SUSPENDED

Hour: Sat 8 pm – Sun 5 pm

Leave a Replay

About Us

We are a Venetian company that produces Murano glass items. We are specialized in glass creations for architecture and interior design. As a sign of love for our wonderful and unique city, the information and services offered on this blog are for educational purposes only and have been carefully selected for quality and reliability.


Texts and images included in the posts are only partially works by the authors of the articles and their properties. Some images and texts are taken from the web and, therefore, considered to be in the public domain. Where possible, source and author are published for illustrative purposes only, in compliance with the law on the “Protection of copyright and other rights related to its exercise”. If their publication violates specific copyrights, please notify us for timely removal. The authors of the blog are not responsible for the content of comments to posts, nor for the content of the linked sites. Please read the blog disclaimer carefully.

Recent Posts

Follow Us


Sign up for our Newsletter

By entering your email address, you agree to receive updates and promotion and accept the privacy  policy and the terms of use.