Myung Whun Chung conduct Mahler

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on skype
Share on email
Myung Whun Chung in La Fenice Theater
Symphony No. 9 by Gustav Mahler
Myung Whun Chung

Symphony No. 9 by Gustav Mahler was written between 1908 and 1909, and was the last symphony that he completed. It is actually his tenth symphony, as Mahler gave no ordinal number to his symphony with voices Das Lied von der Erde. A typical performance takes about 75 to 90 minutes. Though the work is often described as being in the key of D major, the tonal scheme of the symphony as a whole is progressive. While the opening movement is in D major, the finale is in D♭major.

Myung-Whun Chung, born in Korea, makes his debut as a pianist at the age of seven, at 21 he wins second prize at the Tchaikovsky Piano Competition in Moscow. In 1979 he became assistant to Carlo Maria Giulini at the Los Angeles Philharmonic, where in 1981 he was appointed associate director. From 1984 to 1990 he was music director of the Saarbrücken Radio Symphony Orchestra, from 1987 to 1992 principal guest conductor of the Teatro Comunale di Firenze, between 1989 and 1994 musical director of the Orchestra dell’Opéra de Paris-Bastille and since 1997 to 2005 principal conductor of the Orchestra of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome. In 1995 he founded the Asia Philharmonic, formed by the best musicians from 8 Asian countries. In 2005 he was appointed music director of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and in 2016 he was appointed honorary musical director of the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra. Since 2011 he has been principal guest conductor of the Staatskapelle Dresden. From 2000 to 2015, Myung-Whun Chung was musical director of the Orchester Philharmonique de Radio France, of which he has been the honorary director since 2016. 

He has directed many of the most prestigious orchestras in the world, including Berliner and Wiener Philharmoniker, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Bayerischer Rundfunk, New York Philharmonic, Orchestra of the Metropolitan in New York, the main orchestras in London, Paris, Boston, Chicago, Cleveland and Philadelphia.


Location: La Fenice Theater, Venice

Schedule: December 5thand 6th2019

Time: Thu and Fri 8 pm 

Ticket: up to € 143

Leave a Replay

About Us

We are a Venetian company that produces Murano glass items. We are specialized in glass creations for architecture and interior design. As a sign of love for our wonderful and unique city, the information and services offered on this blog are for educational purposes only and have been carefully selected for quality and reliability.


Texts and images included in the posts are only partially works by the authors of the articles and their properties. Some images and texts are taken from the web and, therefore, considered to be in the public domain. Where possible, source and author are published for illustrative purposes only, in compliance with the law on the “Protection of copyright and other rights related to its exercise”. If their publication violates specific copyrights, please notify us for timely removal. The authors of the blog are not responsible for the content of comments to posts, nor for the content of the linked sites. Please read the blog disclaimer carefully.

Recent Posts

Follow Us


Sign up for our Newsletter

By entering your email address, you agree to receive updates and promotion and accept the privacy  policy and the terms of use.